Featured

Restaurant shames lying Yelp reviewer by releasing security footage

Recently, a Bay Area Chinese restaurant called Wonderful received a one-star review from an allegedly disgruntled customer named Dan W. He posted a negative review of the restaurant, saying the service was terrible.

There’s a new documentary coming out that examines if Yelp exploits small business owners and this bit of surveillance footage would be a perfect addition to it.

Recently, a Bay Area Chinese restaurant called Wonderful received a one-star review from an allegedly disgruntled customer named Dan W. He posted a negative review of the restaurant, saying the service was terrible. (Please excuse his bad grammar):

I was flying solo that night, after a particularly challenging day. The waiter came up and asked how many. I said one, I had planned to sit at the bar or get the food to go. She said “one? no, one?” and then ran off. I waited a minute at the door, and then left. They were busy and potentially understaffed. It’s not that classy of a place, but they refused to seat me.

The management at Wonderful noticed the review and were immediately skeptical. So skeptical that they actually reviewed their security footage to track down when Dan visited.

It turns out that Dan never asked for a table – or even spoke to anyone for that matter. As the security video reveals, he walks in, looks around, and leaves about 22 seconds later.

After the video started circulating the web, Dan removed his negative review.

Watch:

h/t Grub Street

Facebook Comment
25 Comments

25 Comments

  1. Bri

    March 29, 2015 at 11:46 pm

    Just curious. How do they know that was the corresponding footage??

  2. Mary G

    March 30, 2015 at 12:17 am

    How would they know that was the guy? What a crock.

  3. John-Christopher Ward

    March 30, 2015 at 12:31 am

    That is the problem with yelp and urbanspoon: no gatekeeper

  4. Vape

    March 30, 2015 at 12:33 am

    That video doesn’t prove a thing. Would be very sad if someone made up this article to counter act one bad review

  5. jmiker919

    March 30, 2015 at 12:34 am

    Sadly, lately Yelp has become one of the most unreliable review sites out there. Oh, well.

  6. Rishikesh Chhabra

    March 30, 2015 at 5:59 am

    How did the restaurant know that was Dan? Just curious

  7. Paul

    March 30, 2015 at 5:59 pm

    There is, of course, the general problem of “Who polices the policeman?” But in this particular case, Yelp could do itself a great favor by banning “Dan” and removing all other reviews attributed to him. The least they could do to protect their brand,

  8. Pingback: Rooster! The new rating and review site! | The Morrissey House

  9. frogcooke

    April 2, 2015 at 11:45 am

    Perhaps he was the only one that walked in and left without being seated?

  10. meagan

    April 2, 2015 at 12:25 pm

    To me looks like a totally fake video. Notice how the “customer” is wearing a hat that practically covers his entire face, looks like he is intentionally tilting his face to avoid view of camera. I kinda think the owner is the actor.

  11. Thora

    June 13, 2017 at 11:53 pm

    Thanks a lot for sharing this with all of us you really know what you are talking about! Bookmarked. Kindly also visit my web site =). We could have a link exchange agreement between us!

  12. shareit app

    June 14, 2017 at 3:20 am

    I was discussing with a buddy of my own regarding this and even regarding shareit free download too. I feel you made a number of very good points here, we’re also looking forward to continue reading information from you.

  13. mobogenie free download

    June 16, 2017 at 6:48 am

    Hello there. I just discovered this amazing site and I truly enjoy it. I also want to focus on mobogenie apk occasionally. Great to be here, thanks a lot!

  14. Many Lecy

    June 16, 2017 at 3:30 pm

    What may be the best program for publishing blogs or articles to my site?

  15. tes psikologi tki

    June 17, 2017 at 2:30 pm

    Is there a way to make your WordPress blog posts do-follow?

  16. how to make french press coffee

    June 17, 2017 at 3:40 pm

    How to delete comment that I have authorized to released on blogger?

  17. box bayi

    June 18, 2017 at 10:46 am

    What are the right blogging sites where your posts are in fact read by others daily?

  18. rumah gizi peninggi badan

    June 18, 2017 at 11:59 am

    Very good written story. It will be useful to anyone who employess it, as well as yours truly :). Keep doing what you are doing – can’r wait to read more posts.

  19. Margareta

    June 19, 2017 at 4:24 am

    I’d have to examine with you here. Which is not something I usually do! I take pleasure in reading a post that can make individuals think. Additionally, thanks for permitting me to comment!

  20. parfum pheromone

    June 19, 2017 at 11:50 am

    What is the best short or from home creative writing program available in London?

  21. parfum pemikat wanita

    June 19, 2017 at 1:59 pm

    Tips on how to rotate my blog posts again and again with a pre-programmed time period of time with PHP code?

  22. vshare free download ios

    June 22, 2017 at 5:03 am

    Thanks a lot for writing the idea, I bookmarked this page. I’m furthermore searching for material around vshare pro, have you any idea exactly where I can discover one thing such as this? I will be back in the future!

  23. hop over to this website

    June 22, 2017 at 3:07 pm

    I just want to say I’m very new to blogging and site-building and really enjoyed your blog. Very likely I’m likely to bookmark your blog . You really have fantastic writings. Cheers for revealing your web site.

  24. 123movies

    June 27, 2017 at 8:01 pm

    397410 903523Thank you for any other great article. 314591

  25. Pozycjonowanie Stron Samemu

    June 30, 2017 at 1:46 pm

    It’s truly a great and helpful piece of information. I’m glad that you just shared this useful info with us. Please stay us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

To Top